2014 Business Leadership Award winners

Board Leadership of the Year 2014

A.J.Bush & Sons Pty Ltd
Selection panel comment: "In adopting innovative approaches and new ways of thinking, AJ Bush & Sons have demonstrated leadership in the meat-processing sector and proven that developing capability in this area can result in a significant payback."

- and -

Teachers Mutual Bank
Selection panel comment: "In addition to being carbon-neutral, the bank does not invest in any large-scale greenhouse polluting activity or company. Yet they have not sought to adopt a market position around ‘boutique green products’ – every one of their 160,000 customs and $4bn of assets applies this climate lens across their business."

Business Leader of the Year 2014

Harry Troedel, University of Melbourne
Selection panel comment: "Harry has worked across the many University of Melbourne campuses to implement more than 200 projects which collectively have saved the organisation around $3m per year and saved the atmosphere over 30,000 tons of emissions."

Company secretary of the year 2014

Helen Hardy, Origin
Selection panel comment: "Helen has been an active and vocal participant in environmental, social, and governance matters though her work at Origin and through her involvement with the Governance Institute of Australia. Through her leadership positions, Helen encourages discussion at senior levels around climate change and sustainability matters."

Helen was represented by Scott Hargreaves of Origin.