2017 Business Leadership Award Winners

Board Leadership of the Year Award 2017

AGL (sponsored by Fujitsu)

Selection panel comment: "AGL is one of Australia’s leading listed companies in the energy sector. While it is Australia’s largest emitter of greenhouse gases, AGL has demonstrated responsible leadership in carbon and climate management. The company and it executives are previous winners of the Climate Alliance Climate Leadership Awards, in both 2016 and 2013. 

The company has demonstrated a strong commitment to corporate governance framework reflects a high standard of corporate governance, by making the decision to close its Liddell Coal Power Station against a backdrop of extremely challenging political conditions."

Innovator/Exporter of the Year Award 2017

Bueno (sponsored by AGL)

Selection panel comment: "BUENO, short for Built Environment Optimisation, is an Australian company operating in the property services sector, taking a data-based approach to identify and manage energy usage. We know that energy consumption from building represents one of the major energy challenges for Australia, along with the carbon emissions that they generate.  BUENO takes the complexity of energy management and simplifies it by providing systems to enable a greater control of energy, costs as well as carbon emissions. 

BUENO came to the attention of the Board of Advisors based on their reputation for their service provision." 

Business Leader of the Year Award 2017

Professor Ross Garnaut (sponsored by Karstens)

Selection panel comment: "Ross has played a key role in developing Australia’s current climate and energy policies. Most recently his participation in the energy storage and renewable generation energy market, as Chairman of Zen Energy demonstrates his commitment to climate leadership. Zen Energy, is a leading Australian business in renewable energy and storage. The name ZEN represents “Zero ENergy” and the company aims to provide the optimum balance between energy generation and demand.

Through a major industry merger in October 2015, ZEN Energy emerged as Australia’s first dedicated Community Energy Provider. There are few people in Australia that understand the economics and business of carbon and climate change better than Ross Garnaut."

Special Recognition - Business Leader of the Year Award 2017

Professor John Thwaites (sponsored by VIT)

Selection panel comment: "John has a remarkable track record in the reform of environmental policy in Victoria. His action on climate change includes the work he has done in the Victorian Parliament which has led to the state setting one of the most challenging renewable energy targets in Australia. He has also championed Climate leadership on the Australian Building Codes Board, the Peter Cullen Water and Environment Trust, the Australian Green Building Council, and as Chair of Melbourne Water. 

John is currently a Professorial Fellow at Monash University and is Chair of ClimateWorks Australia and the Monash Sustainable Development Institute. He is also a Co-Chair of the Leadership Council of the global Sustainable Development Solutions Network, highlighting his international influence in climate leadership and sustainability. "

We thank our sponsors